Slam Dunk North 2016 Super Quick Round Up


I have always been a keen advocate for Slam Dunk, and with the festival taking over Leeds City Centre for the second year (sorry about the traffic jams folks!), it’s clear why Slam Dunk keeps getting the Kerrang! Award for Best Festival… With the weather on our side, 61 international bands and 9 DJ sets over 8 stages gave every music fan such a huge variety of acts to choose from; 2016 was quite possibly the best year to date.   

[spunge] kicked off the nostalgia and the music for me – admittedly I didn’t catch their entire set as Young Guns were tearing up the main stage which was a ‘must see’! I briefly managed to catch Hit The Lights arriving on The Key Club stage all guns blazing, before I grabbed a quick drink and chat with new band on the scene Creeper who were preparing to kick the hell out of the Fresh Blood Stage. Catch 22 from the USA led me up to watching a London based band; King Prawn… Yes, even after all this time they definitely still have it! From Mallory Knox to Zebrahead, New Found Glory to Cancer Bats (they just keep getting better and better), and from Panic At The Disco! To Of Mice And Men to the Shikari Sound System set, I was almost overwhelmed by the sheer choice of great music. 

My act of the day was truly a surprise. Hiding in the underground car park of the Rose Bowl were members of Enter Shikari (Shikari Sound System) playing tunes and mixes ranging from dubstep to Blur to The Outhere Brothers – nostalgia in spades and tunes you could dance to all night.

My Slam Dunk day, yet again, was one to remember (or not if you were frequenting the bars), musically blew my mind, and has yet again, left me craving for Slam Dunk 2017.

Leave a Reply

